Sailing to Nowhere

IMG_7023.JPG
Cape Breton August 2016

Closed my eyes, drifted away,
Is this all a dream?
It’s been a while, hands curled on the paddle
Cold breeze blew itself through the open cracks of my stern
And the city glowed with every stroke
Far away, my hands dry, old relics of some place I once called home
Cracked and bleeding, my fingers crawled around my empty pockets
Gazed at my bow, my belongings gone
Still water mirrored the peaking sun,
My eyes they seared in awe of it all
The loons they hollered
An eagle swooped past
My belly ached shaken by the sea water
And I looked at the water and to the sky
It was then I had fallen to my knees
A sudden urge of freedom crept upon this broken sail,
A gale force of epiphany
It was all blue,
So I guess this is what they call the lovesick, seasick, water locked blues

Leave a comment